Mobile Phones at best prices.

Wednesday, 2 November 2011

Olympic Games, Asian Games and Commonwealth Games held once in four year.

Olympics Games:

This is an international sports event that originated in the city of Olympia, an ancient city of Greece.

These games were held at Mount Olympia in Greece in honour of Zeus from 776 BC to 394 AD. From AD 394 these games started degenerating and by AD 580 they altogether vanished and were banned by Roman Emperor, Theodosius.

Olympic games were revived by French nobleman, Baron Pierre de Coubertin in 1894. The Modern series of Olympic games started in Athens and since then are held every four years. Women have been participating in Olympic games since 1912.

India officially participated in Olympic games in 1920 with four athletes and two wrestlers  in the sixth Olmypic games held at Antwerp, Belgium.

The Olympic games flag is made up of silk and conatins fine interwined rings . Starting from right to left, the rings are Blue ( For Europe ),Yellow (For Asia), Black ( For Africa), Red ( America) and Green ( Australia ).

The Olympic motto ‘Citius ,Altius, Fortius’ which means ‘Swifter ,Higher and Stronger’ was introduced in 1920 Olympic games held at Antwerp, Belgium.

Asian Games:

The First Asian games were held in 1951 at the initiative of Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru and are held  after every four year . The first Asian games were held in 1951 at National Stadium, New Delhi and were inaugurated by Rajendra Prasad, the then President of India. About 489 participant from 11 nations participated in the Asian Games. ‘Ever Forward’ was the motto of the Asian games , which was given by Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru and the emblem of Asian games is ‘ a bright full rising sun with interlocking rings’. The ‘Torch and Flag’ was presented by Maharaja of Patiala’.

Commonwealth Games :

Commonwealth games were held in 1930 at Hamilton,Canada. Like, Olympic games Commonwealth games are held once in four years.

Posted by : Vishal.Kalgutkar

No comments:

Post a Comment